bitpuf blog privacy private conversation

Privacy is not what you think

Privacy is not about hiding. Secrecy is.

Privacy is about setting boundaries and making distinctions; it’s about asserting the right to control what is personal.

Privacy is:

  • trusting the postal service to deliver mail, unopened
  • having a conversation, unrecorded
  • shredding bank statements
  • asking permission, not presuming it

Unfortunately, digital privacy usually has it the other way around.

Recent research, reported by Gavin O’Malley of MediaPost, “tested 110 of the most popular Android and iOS apps on the market to see which ones shared personal, behavioral, and location data with third parties…a whopping 73% of Android apps shared personal information, such as email address with third parties, while 47% of iOS apps shared geo-coordinates and other location data,” very often without notifying users or asking for their permission.

Given the fierce debates surrounding data protection and consumer rights, it’s clear that balancing the risks and benefits of monitoring behavior, compiling dossiers, and storing data will not be easy.

bitpuf was designed to protect users’ privacy, to minimize these risks, and to create value around trust.

bitpuf does not use location or other tracking, cookies, photo tagging, or facial recognition. We ask for users’ email at sign up but nothing else. All content is fully encrypted, both in transit and “at rest.” And nothing is archived. We see privacy as an inherent right not an opting out of intrusive data collection.

Our policy is transparency because we believe privacy matters. We know that many of you share this view.

Wondering what privacy looks like on bitpuf? See for yourself!

Photo credit: nd3000 / Fotolia
 

Get started!
 

MyClips ClipBoard on bitpuf

How is sharing on bitpuf private?

Content on bitpuf is captured on a Clip, which can combine images, videos, text, and files. A Clip is like a blackboard that reflects changes instantaneously and erases itself when you tell it to.

What makes it private?

First, everything on bitpuf is truly temporary. Users select an expiration date then let content auto-expire or delete it manually earlier. The Clip and its content are deleted and never archived in the cloud. bitpuf recreates the experience of sharing in the moment, of physically delivering a document, of keeping private content off the record.

Second, signing up requires an email, nothing else. Our value centers on trust and respect for privacy not on monetizing personal information. Consequently, we don’t use tracking, cookies, or photo tagging, or seek access to your device’s Contacts. Transparency enables privacy.

Third, we offer sharing modes that align with different types of content. For the greatest privacy, user-to-user “internal” sharing requires sign-in for access. Users can also make content more broadly accessible via “external” sharing. In both modes, you select your audience and all data is encrypted. Choosing whom you share with ensures that you control your privacy.

Incidentally, we make the experience simple and delightful, because we believe these are synonymous.

To learn more, watch our demo video. Or sign up and try it out for yourself!